Mission Statement

The CARSM general mission is to understand, diagnose, treat and prevent sleep disorders as well as to inform scientists, clinicians and the general public of the evolution of knowledge in this domain. The specific objectives of CARSM researchers are to:

  • Gain new insights into the regulatory mechanisms of normal sleep through a pluridisciplinary approach that includes the study of molecular and neuronal mechanisms in animals and the experimental study of humans undergoing various epidemiological, neuropsychological, electrophysiological, genetic and brain imaging protocols;
  • Study the phenomenology of sleep disorders, and develop and validate novel methods for diagnosing them; and study the links between sleep disorders and other health conditions (e.g., pain, traumatic brain injuries, respiratory diseases, neurodegenerative diseases and cardiovascular and metabolic diseases, aging, and cognitive dysfunction);
  • Create and validate novel tools to measure the quality of sleep, biological rhythms, and pain to assess environmental and endogenous factors that can affect the sleep/wake cycle;
  • Measure the efficacy and tolerability of new pharmacological treatments of sleep disorders through industry partnerships;
  • Develop and improve upon non-pharmacological treatments for sleep disorders, as, for instance, hypnosis for sleepwalking, cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia, luminotherapy for circadian rhythm sleep disorders, and dental apparatuses for snoring and sleep apnea;
  • Inform health professionals, associations representing patients suffering from sleep disorders, and the general public about the importance of good sleep for maintaining global general health, and to update these communities on progress in sleep medicine through courses and continuing professional activities, conferences for the general public, radio and television interviews, and popularized articles;
  • Guarantee the sustainability and long-term evolution of fundamental and clinical research in sleep medicine by ensuring the training of highly qualified personal (undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, medical doctors and other health professionals, specialized technicians, research assistants, and researchers).

Success in attaining these objectives is rooted in a close collaboration between CARSM researchers and clinicians, who constitute a multidisciplinary team with expertise in fundamental, applied and clinical research, in teaching and in knowledge transfer, and with a national and international network of experts collaborating in its research programs.

We invite you to visit the other pages of our site to learn more about our members and their ongoing research projects.

Mission

Le CÉAMS a pour mission générale de comprendre, diagnostiquer, traiter et prévenir les troubles du sommeil, ainsi que d’informer les scientifiques, les cliniciens et le public en général de l’évolution du savoir dans ce domaine. Les objectifs spécifiques des chercheurs du CÉAMS sont :

  • Acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur les mécanismes de régulation et sur le rôle du sommeil normal par une approche pluridisciplinaire, intégrant l’étude des mécanismes moléculaires et neuronaux chez l’animal et l’étude de sujets humains soumis à différentes conditions expérimentales par des approches épidémiologique, neuropsychologique, électrophysiologique, génétique et d’imagerie cérébrale;
  • Étudier la phénoménologie des troubles du sommeil, développer et valider de nouvelles méthodes de diagnostic de ces désordres, et étudier les liens entre les troubles du sommeil et d’autres conditions médicales, comme la douleur, les traumatismes craniocérébraux, les maladies respiratoires, les maladies neurodégénératives et les maladies cardiovasculaires et métaboliques;
  • Concevoir et valider de nouveaux instruments pour la mesure de la qualité du sommeil, des rythmes biologiques et de la douleur afin de caractériser les facteurs environnementaux et endogènes pouvant affecter le cycle éveil-sommeil;
  • Mesurer l’efficacité et l’innocuité de nouveaux traitements pharmacologiques des troubles du sommeil en partenariat avec l’industrie;
  • Développer et adapter des méthodes non pharmacologiques de traitement, par exemple l’hypnose pour traiter le somnambulisme, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale de l’insomnie, la luminothérapie des troubles des rythmes circadiens, et les appareils dentaires pour le traitement du ronflement et du syndrome d’apnées du sommeil;
  • Sensibiliser les professionnels de la santé, les associations de malades atteints de troubles du sommeil et le public en général à l’importance d'un sommeil de qualité pour le maintien de la santé globale et les informer des progrès de la médecine du sommeil au moyen de cours et activités d'éducation professionnelle continue, de conférences destinées au grand public, d'entrevues à la radio et à la télévision, et d'articles de vulgarisation;
  • Assurer la formation de personnel hautement qualifié (étudiants au premier cycle et aux cycles supérieurs, stagiaires postdoctoraux, médecins et autres professionnels de la santé, techniciens spécialisés et assistants de recherche, chercheurs) pour garantir la pérennité et l’évolution à long-terme de la recherche fondamentale et clinique en médecine du sommeil.

Pour atteindre ces objectifs le CÉAMS compte sur la complémentarité pluridisciplinaire de ses membres et sur la contribution de son réseau national et international d’experts qui collaborent à ses programmes de recherche.

Nous vous invitons à visiter les autres volets de notre site pour en apprendre davantage sur nos membres et sur les projets de recherche en cours au CÉAMS.