Caroline Arbour, Ph.D.

Associate professor, Faculté des sciences infirmières, Université de Montréal
Regular researcher, CIUSSS-NIM Research Center
caroline.arbour@umontreal.ca

Training

Postdoctoral fellowship on multimodal assessment of disorders of consciousness (University of Liège)
Postdoctoral fellowship in sleep and wakefulness disorders after head trauma (University of Montreal)
Ph.D. in Nursing (McGill University)

Research interests

The short and long term effects of head trauma on pain experience, sleep patterns, and other indicators of quality of life. The development and validation of innovative interventions (cannabis, hypnosis, TMS) to prevent and mitigate these side effects in the context of head trauma and other complex health conditions.

Methodological approaches

Behavioral evaluation, actimetry, quantitative sensory evaluation, polysomnography, biomarkers, non-pharmacological interventions (cannabis, hypnosis, TMS).

Fundings

Quality of life grant Leukemia & Lymphoma Society of Canada
Amount: $ 150,000
Role: Co-principal investigator
Title: ImPROve quality of life after blood cancer: predict and act on SLEEP
Years: 2022-2024

Canadian Institutes of Health Research Foundation Team Grant
Amount: $ 1,500,000
Role: Principal Investigator (Nominated Principal Investigator: Louis De Beaumont)
Title: A Prospective Translational Model of the Effects of Cannabis on Opioid Use and Overall Patient Recovery in the First Year of Trauma
Years: 2020-2025

SSHRC Insight Program
Amount: 221 587$
Role: Principal investigator
Title: Sleep after concussion: Impact on individual well-being and family functioning
Years: 2021-2025

My team

Alexandra Lapierre, inf

Ph.D. candidate

Danny Hjeij, inf

M.Sc. candidate

Charles Gervais

Research Assistant

Selected publications

Arbour C, Martineau-Lessard C, Germélus N-É, Williamson D, De Beaumont L, Bernard F. Pupil light reflex for the assessment of analgesia in critically ill sedated patients with traumatic brain injury: a preliminary study. Soumis.

El-Khatib H, Sanchez E, Arbour C, Van Der Maren S, Duclos C, Blais H, Carrier J, Simonelli G, Hendryckx C, Paquet P, Gosselin N. Slow wave activity moderates the association between new learning and traumatic brain injury severity. Sleep. 2020. doi: 10.1093/sleep/zsaa242

Herrero Babiloni A, Exposto FG, Bouferguene Y, Costa Y, Lavigne GJ, Arbour C. Temporomandibular disorders in traumatic brain injury patients: a chronic pain condition requiring further attention. Pain Medicine. 2020; 21(12):3260-3262. doi: 10.1093/pm/pnaa234

Sanchez E, Arbour C, El-Khatib H, Marcotte K, Blais H, Baril AA, Bedetti C, Descoteaux M, Lina JM, Gilbert D, Carrier J, Gosselin N. Sleep Spindles Are Resilient To Extensive White Matter Deterioration. Brain Communications, Brain Communications. 2020;2(2):fcaa071. doi: 10.1093/braincomms/fcaa071

Bouferguene S, Lapierre A, Rainville P, Arbour C. The effect of age and pain on quantitative sensory testing measurements after moderate-to-severe traumatic brain injury: preliminary findings. Biological Research for Nursing. 2020;22(3):341-353. doi: 10.1177/1099800420912462

Bouferguene S, Lapierre A, Houzé B, Rainville P, Arbour C. Chronic central pain among community-dwelling survivors of moderate-to-severe traumatic brain injury: a quantitative sensory testing study. Biological Research for Nursing, 2019;21(5):519-531. doi: 10.1177/1099800419859078

El-Khatib H, Arbour C, Sanchez E, Dumont M, Duclos C, Blais H, Carrier J, Paquet J, Gosselin N. Towards a better understanding of increased sleep duration in the chronic phase of moderate to severe traumatic brain injury: an actigraphiy study. Sleep Medicine. 2019;59:67-75. doi: 10.1016/j.sleep.2018.11.012

Suzuki Y, Arbour C, Khoury S, Giguère JF, Denis R, De Beaumont L, Lavigne GJ. Does sleep bruxism contribute to headache-related disability after mild traumatic brain injury? A case-control study. Journal of Oral & Facial Pain and Headache. 2017;31 :306-312. doi: 10.11607/ofph.1878

Houzé B, El-Khatib H, Arbour C. Efficacy, tolerability, and safety of non-pharmacological therapies for chronic pain: an umbrella review on various CAM approaches. Progress in Neuro-Psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry. 2017;79:192-205. doi: 10.1016/j.pnpbp.2017.06.035

Suzuki Y, Khoury S, El-Khatib H, Chauny JM, Paquet J, Giguère JF, Denis R, Gosselin N, Lavigne GJ, Arbour C. Individuals with pain need more sleep in the early stage of mild traumatic brain injury. Sleep Medicine. 2017;33 :36-42. doi: 10.1016/j.sleep.2016.06.033

Projects

Impact of cannabis on opioid use and overall recovery from head trauma

Analgesia is a priority in trauma care because unrelieved pain can interfere with short- and long-term post-traumatic recovery. Despite the high risk of abuse and dependence, people with head trauma are frequently prescribed opioids while in or out of hospital. The current opioid crisis coupled with the legalization of cannabis in Canada calls for a cross-sectoral strategy to investigate the potential of medical cannabis on opioid use and overall recovery from head trauma. The main objective of this cohort study is to provide the first evidence on the effectiveness of medical cannabis in reducing opioid consumption, both at home (mild trauma) and in hospital (moderate / severe trauma), and moreover accelerate the healing of the head trauma according to recognized indices of recovery such as the intensity of the pain, the quality of sleep and other measures of quality of life. Using ecologically valid animal models, another goal of this study is to better understand the influence of sex and pre-traumatic recreational cannabis use on the response to medical cannabis after head trauma.

Pain following moderate / severe head trauma

Chronic pain is frequently reported 6-12 months after moderate / severe head trauma and is a major cause of impairment to quality of life. However, not all trauma patients will develop chronic pain. However, previous retrospective studies have not been able to establish the clinical profile of those most likely to develop persistent and debilitating pain after this form of injury. This prospective study aims to identify, from the first days of hospitalization, individuals at risk of developing persistent pain after moderate / severe head trauma. To do this, variables pertaining to inflammation, pain relief and severity of head trauma will be documented. The ability of these variables to predict chronic pain between 6-12 months of head trauma will be assessed. Our study will allow us to better understand the clinical and socio-demographic profile of people who develop persistent pain after moderate / severe head trauma and to develop an early intervention protocol.

Hypnosis to reduce pain and fatigue in outpatient chemotherapy

Pain and fatigue, although often reported during chemotherapy treatments, are difficult for the oncology nurse to treat. In recent years, conversational hypnosis has emerged as a promising approach to promote pain relief and increase endurance to invasive treatment in outpatient settings. This pilot study serves as a proof of concept and aims to explore whether conversational hypnosis can be used by trained nurses to optimize pain and fatigue management during outpatient chemotherapy treatments. To do this, patients enrolled in a cycle of chemotherapy treatment will be recruited during a visit to the outpatient clinic. Half of the patients will be assigned to routine care plus a hypnosis session and the other half will receive routine care. In addition to contributing positively to the feeling of self-efficacy and the work performance of nurses working in the hematology-oncology clinic at CIUSSS-NIM, we anticipate that exposure to hypnosis will have a calming effect on patients. chemotherapy providers at this center, allowing medical procedures to progress in a more efficient, safer and more comfortable manner.

Caroline Arbour, Ph.D.

Professeure adjointe, Faculté des sciences infirmières, Université de Montréal
Chercheuse régulière, Centre de recherche du CIUSSS-NIM
caroline.arbour@umontreal.ca

Formation

Postdoctorat sur l’évaluation multimodale des troubles de la conscience (Université de Liège)
Postdoctorat sur les troubles du sommeil et de l’éveil après un traumatisme crânien (Université de Montréal)
Ph.D. en sciences infirmières (Université McGill)

Intérêts de recherche

Les effets à court et long terme d’un traumatisme crânien sur l’expérience de douleur, les patrons de sommeil, et d’autres indicateurs de la qualité de vie. Le développement et la validation d’interventions innovantes (cannabis, hypnose, TMS) pour prévenir et atténuer ces effets secondaires dans le contexte du traumatisme crânien et d’autres conditions de santé complexes.

Méthodologies

Évaluation comportementale, actimétrie, évaluation quantitative sensorielle, polysomnographie, biomarqueurs, interventions non-pharmacologiques (cannabis, hypnose, TMS).

Subventions

Subvention d’Équipe Fondation des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada
Montant : 1 500 000 $
Rôle : Chercheuse principale (Chercheur principal désigné : Louis De Beaumont)
Titre : Un modèle translationnel prospectif des effets du cannabis sur l’utilisation d’opioïdes et la récupération globale des patients au cours de la première année de traumatisme [traduction libre]
Années : 2020-2025

Programme savoir CRSH
Montant : 221 587$
Rôle : Chercheuse principale
Titre : Sommeil après une commotion cérébrale : Impact sur le bien-être et le fonctionnement familial
Années : 2021-2025

Chaire de la famille Blanchard pour l’enseignement et la recherche en soins palliatifs
Montant : 40 000$
Rôle : Chercheuse principale
Titre : L’hypnose conversationnelle pour améliorer le soutien émotionnel et le confort physique pendant les traitements de chimiothérapie palliative en clinique externe
Années : 2019-2021

Mon équipe

Alexandra Lapierre, inf

Candidate au Ph.D.

Danny Hjeij, inf

Candidate à la M.Sc.

Chloé Martineau-Lessard

Candidate à la M.Sc.

Sabrina Bouferguene M.Sc.

Assistante de recherche

Naïcha-Éveline Germélus B.Sc.

Assistante de recherche

Publications choisies

Arbour C, Martineau-Lessard C, Germélus N-É, Williamson D, De Beaumont L, Bernard F. Pupil light reflex for the assessment of analgesia in critically ill sedated patients with traumatic brain injury: a preliminary study. Soumis.

El-Khatib H, Sanchez E, Arbour C, Van Der Maren S, Duclos C, Blais H, Carrier J, Simonelli G, Hendryckx C, Paquet P, Gosselin N. Slow wave activity moderates the association between new learning and traumatic brain injury severity. Sleep. 2020. doi: 10.1093/sleep/zsaa242

Herrero Babiloni A, Exposto FG, Bouferguene Y, Costa Y, Lavigne GJ, Arbour C. Temporomandibular disorders in traumatic brain injury patients: a chronic pain condition requiring further attention. Pain Medicine. 2020; 21(12):3260-3262. doi: 10.1093/pm/pnaa234

Sanchez E, Arbour C, El-Khatib H, Marcotte K, Blais H, Baril AA, Bedetti C, Descoteaux M, Lina JM, Gilbert D, Carrier J, Gosselin N. Sleep Spindles Are Resilient To Extensive White Matter Deterioration. Brain Communications, Brain Communications. 2020;2(2):fcaa071. doi: 10.1093/braincomms/fcaa071

Bouferguene S, Lapierre A, Rainville P, Arbour C. The effect of age and pain on quantitative sensory testing measurements after moderate-to-severe traumatic brain injury: preliminary findings. Biological Research for Nursing. 2020;22(3):341-353. doi: 10.1177/1099800420912462

Bouferguene S, Lapierre A, Houzé B, Rainville P, Arbour C. Chronic central pain among community-dwelling survivors of moderate-to-severe traumatic brain injury: a quantitative sensory testing study. Biological Research for Nursing, 2019;21(5):519-531. doi: 10.1177/1099800419859078

El-Khatib H, Arbour C, Sanchez E, Dumont M, Duclos C, Blais H, Carrier J, Paquet J, Gosselin N. Towards a better understanding of increased sleep duration in the chronic phase of moderate to severe traumatic brain injury: an actigraphiy study. Sleep Medicine. 2019;59:67-75. doi: 10.1016/j.sleep.2018.11.012

Suzuki Y, Arbour C, Khoury S, Giguère JF, Denis R, De Beaumont L, Lavigne GJ. Does sleep bruxism contribute to headache-related disability after mild traumatic brain injury? A case-control study. Journal of Oral & Facial Pain and Headache. 2017;31 :306-312. doi: 10.11607/ofph.1878

Houzé B, El-Khatib H, Arbour C. Efficacy, tolerability, and safety of non-pharmacological therapies for chronic pain: an umbrella review on various CAM approaches. Progress in Neuro-Psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry. 2017;79:192-205. doi: 10.1016/j.pnpbp.2017.06.035

Suzuki Y, Khoury S, El-Khatib H, Chauny JM, Paquet J, Giguère JF, Denis R, Gosselin N, Lavigne GJ, Arbour C. Individuals with pain need more sleep in the early stage of mild traumatic brain injury. Sleep Medicine. 2017;33 :36-42. doi: 10.1016/j.sleep.2016.06.033

Projets

Impact du cannabis sur la consommation d’opioïdes et la récupération globale après un traumatisme crânien

L’analgésie est une priorité des soins en traumatologie car une douleur non soulagée peut interférer avec la récupération à court et à long terme post-traumatique. Malgré le risque élevé d’usage abusif et de dépendance, les personnes victimes d’un traumatisme crânien se voient fréquemment prescrire des opioïdes pendant l’hospitalisation ou à la sortie de l’hôpital. La crise des opioïdes actuelle conjuguée à la légalisation du cannabis au Canada appelle à une stratégie intersectorielle visant à étudier le potentiel du cannabis médical sur la consommation d’opioïdes et la récupération globale après un traumatisme crânien. L’objectif principal de cette étude de cohorte est de fournir les premières preuves sur l’efficacité du cannabis médical pour réduire la consommation d’opioides, autant à domicile (traumatismes légers) qu’à l’hôpital (traumatismes modérés/sévères), et de surcroit accélérer la guérison du traumatisme crânien selon des indices de récupération reconnus comme l’intensité de la douleur, la qualité du sommeil et d’autres mesures de qualité de vie. Par le biais de modèles animaux écologiquement valides, un autre objectif de cette étude est de mieux comprendre l’influence du sexe et de la consommation pré-traumatique de cannabis récréatif sur la réponse au cannabis médical après un traumatisme crânien.

La douleur à la suite d’un traumatisme crânien modéré/sévère

Une douleur chronique est fréquemment rapportée 6-12 mois après un traumatisme crânien modéré/sévère et constitue une cause de nuisance majeure à la qualité de vie. Or, ce ne sont pas tous les patients traumatisés qui vont développer une douleur chronique. Toutefois, les études rétrospectives antérieures n’ont pas été en mesure d’établir le profil clinique des personnes les plus susceptibles de développer une douleur persistante et invalidante après cette forme de blessure. Cette étude prospective vise à identifier, dès les premiers jours d’hospitalisation, les individus à risque de développer une douleur persistante après un traumatisme crânien modéré/sévère. Pour ce faire, les variables se rapportant à l’inflammation, au soulagement de la douleur et à la sévérité du traumatisme crânien seront documentés. La capacité de ces variables à prédire la douleur chronique entre 6-12 mois du traumatisme crânien sera évaluée. Notre étude permettra de mieux comprendre le profil clinique et sociodémographique des personnes qui développent une douleur persistante après un traumatisme crânien modéré/sévère et de développer un protocole d’intervention précoce.

L’hypnose pour diminuer la douleur et la fatigue en chimiothérapie ambulatoire

La douleur et la fatigue, bien que souvent rapportées pendant les traitements de chimiothérapie, sont difficiles à traiter par l’infirmière en oncologie. Ces dernières années, l’hypnose conversationnelle est apparue comme une approche prometteuse pour promouvoir le soulagement de la douleur et augmenter l’endurance aux traitements invasifs en contexte ambulatoire. Cette étude pilote fait office de preuve de concept et vise à explorer si l’hypnose conversationnelle peut être utilisée par des infirmières entraînées pour optimiser la gestion de la douleur et la fatigue pendant les traitements de chimiothérapie ambulatoire. Pour ce faire, des patients enrôlés dans un cycle de traitement de chimiothérapie seront recrutés pendant une visite à la clinique externe. La moitié des patients seront assignés aux soins courants bonifiés d’une séance d’hypnose et l’autre moitié recevront les soins courants. En plus de contribuer positivement au sentiment d’auto-efficacité et la performance au travail des infirmières œuvrant à la clinique d’hémato-oncologie au CIUSSS-NIM, nous anticipons que l’exposition à l’hypnose aura un effet apaisant pour les patients prestataires de chimiothérapie de ce centre, permettant ainsi aux procédures médicales de progresser de manière plus efficace, plus sûre et plus confortable.